UMass Dartmouth
Print Click to Print      Back Back to Main Article

Outstanding students to be recognized at the 22nd Annual Honors Convocation

Students, faculty and staff from across the campus will gather to celebrate the achievements of UMass Dartmouth's most outstanding students at the 22nd Annual Honors Convocation on May 2.

Students, faculty and staff from across the campus will gather to celebrate the achievements of UMass Dartmouth's most outstanding students at the 22nd Annual Honors Convocation on May 2. The event will be held from 3 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., at Woodland Commons. A reception will follow in the lobby.

This year's Honors Convocation will recognize the academic achievement of approximately 80 students: those who have achieved the highest grade point averages; have received prestigious merit scholarships that are not limited by academic areas; have completed the undergraduate four-year honors curriculum to become Commonwealth Scholars; or have received special awards such as the Waxler Prize for Social Justice, the Michael Dukakis internship, and the Scholar/Athlete award.

Speakers at the event will include Chancellor Jean MacCormack; Anthony Garro, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; Alda Rego Weathers, UMass Board of Trustees; Professor William Nelles, Director of the University Honors program; and Richard Panofsky, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs.


Margaret Mullaney Panos Honors Essay Contest
* 1st prize: Carolyn Arcabascio, Salem, New Hampshire: "The Helicopter Parent Phenomenon"
* 2nd prize: Ashley Cunningham, Stoneham: "Gaining Autonomy: The True Upper Hand"
* 3rd prize: Annie Willis, North Reading: "Leaping From the Nest"

Jonathan Blake Waxler Memorial Award for Social Justice
* Monica Faria, Taunton

Michael Dukakis Public Service Internship
* Brian Ashmankas, Millbury
* Ashley Higgins, Milford

Shaukat Ali Memorial Scholarship
* Rachel Fish, Shelburne Falls

Louise A. Habicht University Honors Scholarship
* Abigail Scott, Seekonk

Dr. Mona El Bayadi Racine Scholarship
* Nana Kwadwo Obiri-Yeboah, Worcester

Earle P. Charlton Scholarship
* Virginia Foy Boudwin, Plymouth
* Laurie Buckley, Wakefield
* Harris Yegha Dinga, Brockton
* Sri Harshan J. Reddy, Worcester

Dean Mary Louise Walsh Scholarship for International Study
* Robin Galligan, Rehoboth
* Jessica McCarthy, Jefferson
* Joseph John Scribi, Quincy
* Jessica Souza, Fairhaven
* Amy Sylvester, East Sandwich

UMass Dartmouth Scholar/Athlete Award
* Brian Vatcher, Stoneham

Library Employees Academic Achievement Award
* Rachel Fish, Shelburne Falls
* Rochelle Fontaine, North Dartmouth
* Stephen Hickey, East Sandwich
* Rosannette Rivera, New Bedford
* Gabrielle Streeter, New Bedford

Graduating Seniors with the Highest Grade Point Average

College of Arts and Sciences

* Eric E. St. Jacques, Wareham
* Jeannette Sorace, Fall River
* Lindsay Quintal, Plymouth
*       Caitlyn Slowe, Quincy

* Rachel Stopka, South Dartmouth
* Dayse Fernandes, Brockton

Social Science
* Gunjan Gotra, Agawam
* Lori Reed, Fall River
* Kerry Darling, Harwich

Charlton College of Business
* Amy Pavao, Fall River
* Matthew Plaud, Fall River
* Kerry Beddeos, Groveland

College of Engineering
* Daniel Savaria, Westport
* Jesse Mueller, North Dartmouth

College of Nursing
* Sharlene Furtado, South Dartmouth
* Lisa Farias, Little Compton, Rhode Island

College of Visual and Performing Arts
* Amber Sadoski, Sunderland
* Allison Randall, Seekonk

Named Foundation Scholarships

Donald E. and Ann L. Walker Scholarship
* Brian Ashmankas, Millbury
* Kerry Noelle Gorman, Malden
* Fouad Amal Jeryes, Longmeadow

Edward J. Ryan Scholarship
*       Kristen M. Duarte, Fall River

Frank Stevens Scholarship
* Alicia R. Newton, Orange

Gustave and Elsa LaStaiti Scholarship
* Valerie Amaral, Acushnet
* Kimberly Carvalho, New Bedford
* Heidi Jung, South Easton
* Jessica Peixoto, South Dartmouth

Harold and Virginia Lash Scholarship
* Eric Robert Grab, Rehoboth
* Brittany Mae Lawler, Hull
* Jennifer L. McCarthy, Mansfield
* Alicia R. Newton, Orange
* Benjamin S. Paulding, Yarmouth Port
* Eric Rollins, North Attleboro
* Eric E. St. Jacques, Wareham

Jeanne Walsh '76 Scholarship
* Duncan Alan MacLeod, Reading

Mary Morley Crapo Hyde Eccles Scholarship
* Christopher Azevedo, Lakeville
* Erin Burdman, North Dartmouth
* Kimberly Carvalho, New Bedford
* Justin Faria, Berkley
* Amanda Mello, New Bedford
* Jason Olejarz, New Bedford
* Jessica Peixoto, South Dartmouth
* Deborah Shotwell, North Dartmouth

Graduating Seniors Completing the Commonwealth Honors Program
* Christopher Bates, Framingham, Computer Science
* Dale Becker, Westford, History
* Anna Bogdanova, Dracut, Political Science
* Patrick Bucci, Portsmouth, Rhode Island, English (Writing and Communications)
* Dustin Bushika, Taunton, English (Writing and Communications)
* Veronica Cooley, Northborough, Marketing
* Inge Costa, Little Compton, Rhode Island, Nursing
* Samantha Giffin, Shrewsbury, English (Writing and Communications)
* David Gow, Auburn, Music
* Liam Leahy, Acushnet, Music (Music Education)
* Chontelle McNear, South Dartmouth, Biology
* Michelle Nelson, Framingham, Psychology
* Patrick O'Connor, Belchertown, History
* Christopher Pullano, Taunton, Accounting
* Eric Rollins, North Attleboro, Economics
* Jennifer Saltalamacchia, Carver, English (Literature and Criticism)
* Abigail Scott, Seekonk, English (Literature and Criticism)
* Caitlyn Slowe, Quincy, Humanities/Social Sciences
* Yun Tang, Plymouth, Medical Laboratory Science (Clinical)

Author:  "John Hoey"
Date:  25-Apr-2007
Department:   Publications

You can find this article at: