UMass Dartmouth
Print Click to Print      Back Back to Main Article

Alumni Association announces scholarship awards

A total of $10,500 was awarded to 14 deserving students for the 2007-2008 academic year

The UMass Dartmouth Alumni Association has awarded a total of $10,500 in scholarships to 14 deserving students for the 2007-2008 academic year. The scholarship awards are based on academic achievement and economic need as well as the student's community and campus involvement. The recipients were selected from a field of over 50 applicants.

The following students received awards (hometown, class and major are listed):

Josmanie Weche, Brockton, 2010, Liberal Arts
Fouad Jeryes, Longmeadow, 2008, Management Information Systems
Christina Soini, Georgetown, 2009, Accounting
Jennifer Hunt, Middleboro, 2008, Engineering
Timothy Paikopolous, Dartmouth, 2008, History
Deborah Shotwell, Dartmouth, 2009, English
Heidi Jung, Easton, 2008, Engineering
Gabrielle Streeter,New Bedford, 2008, Music
Jessica Rebis, Southbridge, 2009, Psychology
Kelly McCarthy, Mansfield, 2008, Psychology
Dennis Braga, Taunton, 2009, Portuguese
Jennifer McCarthy, Mansfield, 2008, Sociology
Danillo Silva, Marlboro, 2009, Electrical Engineering
Natassia Amaral, Lunenburg, 2009, Accounting

"These students rose to the top of a field of outstanding candidates", said Joe DeMedeiros '99, Director of Alumni Relations. "We are thrilled to assist our future alumni as they continue on their journey at UMass Dartmouth."

The UMass Dartmouth Alumni Association also presented its first annual Student Leadership Award to the Class of 2007 President Kristi Matsumoto. As Senior Class President, Kristi served as the student representative to the UMass Dartmouth Alumni Association. "Kristi brought enormous energy and a unique perspective as a student. She helped shape the mission and strategic vision of the Alumni Association and gave the Board a better understanding of how to properly serve its youngest constituents," said DeMedeiros.

On Friday, June 29, 2007 from 6:00 to 8:00 PM at the College of Visual & Performing Arts Crapo Gallery at the Star, 715 Purchase Street, New Bedford, the Alumni Association will host its First Annual Membership Reception & Scholarship Benefit. All proceeds from the event will benefit the Association's Scholarship endowment. Tickets are $35 per person and include Refreshments, silent auction and entertainment by vocalist Lori Dow. For tickets or more information contact Nancy Tooley at 508-999-8031 or at

The UMass Dartmouth Alumni Association is dedicated to promoting the welfare, interest, and excellence of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth by fostering and strengthening a mutually beneficial relationship among the alumni, the faculty, the student body, the administration, and the University.

Photo, pictured from left to right: Alumni Association President Gloria T. Craven '77, Association Secretary Kathy Lee Dombrowski '03, Board member and Vice-Chancellor for Student Affairs Dr. Susan T. Costa '72, Scholarship recipients: Deborah Shotwell, Christina Soini, Timothy Paikopolous, Jennifer Hunt, Fouad Jeryes, Director of Alumni Relations Joe DeMedeiros '99, Board member Robert W. Lavoie '61 and Board member Michael J. Ferreira '77.

Author:  "Joe DeMedeiros"
Date:  08-Jun-2007
Department:   Alumni Relations

You can find this article at: