UMass Dartmouth History

Our Blog

Visit our blog...


Blog comments may be arranged around the following topics and issues contained in UMass Dartmouth, 1960-2006: Trials and Triumph.

Mergers and Predecessor Schools

After World War II, Massachusetts gradually restructured and strengthened its system of public higher education. That restructuring included the formation of a new university in southeastern Massachusetts. In this case, a whole new campus was built, as was the case with several community colleges and later, UMass Boston. The architecture of Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute (SMTI) is unique and is an important element of the history of the campus.

Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute was formed from two schools often referred to as the predecessor institutions. Faculty, staff, and programs from the New Bedford Institute of Technology and the Bradford Durfee College of Technology comprised the foundation upon which the new institute was built. Other schools, including Boston State College, Swain School of Design, and the University of Massachusetts contributed to the transformation of SMU and UMass Dartmouth.

Faculty and Academic Programs

The raison d'etre of any educational institution is the education of students. To accomplish this seemingly straight-forward task requires a structure and a wide variety of supporting activities. The general structural unit, in this case, is the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, a campus in the University of Massachusetts system. This section deals with the academic units, faculty, and activities around which the educational process, programs, and the awarding of degrees are organized.

Administration and Governance

The administration is responsible for managing and developing the finances and support structures of the University. It works cooperatively with various segments of the University in formal and informal governance arrangements. Overall control of the University is in the hands of the Trustees of the University system. Prior to 1991, local boards of trustees were charged with overall responsibility for the well-being and direction of Southeastern Massachusetts University and Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute. Below the trustees, with the responsibility for executing the policy and directives of the trustees is the chief executive officer, the president, prior to 1991, and now chancellor. All other administrative functions come under these two system- and university-wide offices and are charged with oversight and management of academic, financial, personnel, student, and other support services.

Students and Alumni

Students and alumni of UMass Dartmouth represent the entire modern history of the institution, from the pre-bachelor's degree period, prior to 1948, to the Ph.D.-granting programs of the past decade. Graduates are those students who graduated from the two predecessor institutions, Bradford Durfee College of Technology and New Bedford Institute of Technology, Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute, Southeastern Massachusetts University, and the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth. Alumni include the above groups as well as graduates of the Swain School of Design who choose affiliation as alumni. Although united as alumni under UMass Dartmouth, graduates have experienced quite different institutions over the years.

Contact Info: